You may notice that many recipes, packaged products, and restaurant menu items proudly advertise themselves to be “vegan and gluten-free!” But take note, those two terms aren’t one and the same. In fact, they refer to two totally different diets.
A gluten-free diet excludes all sources of, well, you guessed it, gluten. It’s the protein found in wheat, barley, and rye, and can be found in anything from bread and pasta to salad dressings that contain wheat protein and beer that contains barley malt. While a gluten-free diet has become something of a fad in the healthy-eating world, it’s really meant for people who have actual gluten intolerances or Celiac disease, and experience serious side effects from consuming gluten (that’s a whole other story).
Notice that meat, seafood, poultry, and dairy weren’t part of that gluten-free definition. That’s because they don’t contain gluten, which means that a) they’re perfectly acceptable on a gluten-free diet, and b)gluten-free doesn’t = vegan.
As a plant-based diet, veganism doesn’t have any particular qualms about wheat.
Video: What I Eat on a Normal Day (Vegan + Gluten-Free)
How to Make a Relationship Last
How to Get Rid of the Whitefly
How to Talk a Friend out of Plastic Surgery
5 Tips to Avoid Psoriasis Scars
11 Things You Should Never Wear To The Office During Summer
Victorinox: What’s your story
This Is What Your Name Would Be If You Were Born Today
A Uniquely Shaped Vibrator
Men Are Horrified When They Get Photoshopped Like Women
Lack of nurses leaves babies at risk